Posted on

Bad Way Out – Audiobook Version

Image

Bad Way Out is coming soon in audiobook format!

I’m diving into the audiobook world, and it is a bit of a thrill ride.  As those of you who have read Bad Way Out know, it’s a different beast when it comes to genre.  As a British reviewer put it, the best way to describe it is as an Appalachian crime noir.  I just love how the Brits make everything sound so important.

I’m doing the audiobook through Amazon’s ACX, and right now, I’m in the audition phase.  I am in a very odd position because as I’m listening to these grizzled male Southern accents, I’m trying to decide if they’d sound sexy reading some of the more salacious passages, or at the very least, not silly.  It’s new territory for me. Once I peg the one with the best sound, I’ll most likely ask them to read a sexually charged passage just to cover my bases. I’ll probably get a female’s opinion before I say yep or nah. I have to say, a couple of the readings have made me smile because they hit the mark dead center as far as conveying the tone of the narrator.  I’m going to have a hard decision to make.

I’ll post periodic updates on the audiobook’s progress, and at the end of the journey, I’ll give you my take on ACX.  So far, I’m liking it.

Leave a Reply

