Posted on

Book sales and Boots Up!

Sora-by-Old-Gringo

The boots are made for writing… redneck romance novels.

I told you I would keep you posted on actual sales, and I’m here to keep that promise.  As you will see, this isn’t to brag, and it’s not even my subtle way of complaining.  This is simply a factual post done for other authors who may be wondering what a typical unknown indie author can expect as far as sales.  I’ve spent a minimal amount on advertising.  You can read what type of advertising I did here, but the cliff notes are that I found a few Kindle specific sites that worked as far as generating downloads of Bad Way Out when I made it available for free for two days.  That resulted in 4,443 downloads.  Last week, those downloads lead to approximately 70 sales (including actual sales and lending through the Amazon Prime program).  The total amount of books I’ve received some form of payment on now stands at 151.  I’ve also picked up six reviews since the giveaway giving Bad Way Out a total of 13 reviews as of this writing.  I have continued a rotating banner ad on DailyFreeBooks.com. The cost for that ad to run for 5 weeks was around $40, and I chose to keep running it because one of the reviewers mentioned my tagline in that ad in their review.  I figured it was worth the small cost to keep it going.

I’ve done a lot of research over the past several weeks, and I have a long way to go before I’ll label this publishing venture a success, but I’m pleased with the progress so far.  I’ve come across some absolutely unethical marketing advice from some gurus and ‘successful’ authors, and it has irritated the piss out of me.  I’m not interested in buying or begging readers for Amazon reviews just to pump up my sales numbers.  The writing matters to me, and if I can’t make it on merit, I won’t make it.

Another thing I have noticed in my research, if you’ve written a Romance novel, you are golden.  There are virtually endless opportunities for you to get the word out about your book through blogs and websites.  It is definitely the most indie friendly genre.  That’s why I’m working on a redneck romance series called “Boots up.”

Okay, not really, but if I get a 30 day notice from my electric company, don’t be surprised if I cave and crank out book one in the series.

Leave a Reply

